Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 4 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
May
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31
Newest Members
vacheera, KM Elevator, Shawzee, ChurchGuy, Luis Mariano
8461 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums13
Topics6,528
Posts36,942
Members8,461
Most Online117
Jan 16th, 2020
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#18276 - 10/07/16 07:31 AM UCLS 21 help  
Rando Offline
stranger
Rando  Offline
stranger

Hello elevator people. I have been a mechanic for 10 years now but have only been in the service department for about 3. I guess you could say I was "thrown to the wolves". We have a 16 story building with 3 Otis passenger cars and a simplex freight. My boss in his infinite wisdom decided to blow out the generator on the freight car. Even after EVERYONE tried to talk him out of it. Needless to say, it started throwing fireballs immediately. We ended up pulling the armature and having it rewound. That was about a year ago. This elevator has not been right since.
To start off with it had all the turns in the MG. We took some out and that would let it stay running. After having 5 or 6 different mechanics take turns moving resistor bands and selector switches it has become my responsibility to make it run correctly. After solving lots of issues I have it to the point where it runs but something isn't right.
When it runs in the down direction the genny will squeal a little when it takes off. Brushes arc a little bit but not bad. It levels in just fine. In the up direction it is a whole different story. It takes off and runs fine until it starts to slow down. When FE drops out so does 2E. the genny SCREAMS and throws sparks bad. Then it will level in and stop just fine.