Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 12 guests, and 0 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
March
S M T W T F S
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
Newest Members
Prairieelevator, Robot Rob, Montkone, Jevans, Clayshooter
8395 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums13
Topics6,468
Posts36,656
Members8,395
Most Online117
Jan 16th, 2020
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#18915 - 12/10/16 06:24 PM MRL preference  
Boa Offline
Boa  Offline

NC
Need opinions. Have a customer that is renovating one of his buildings, replacing existing with an MRL. Contractor has quotes from Schindler and Otis. He's asking my opinion, unfortunately I have no experience with MRLs other than 1 Kone and surveying a couple. Need to know reliability, ease of service (can a third party take care of?), any points that I can assist my client in his decision making other than Otis is more expensive.
Thanks

#18917 - 12/10/16 10:15 PM Re: MRL preference [Re: Boa]  
ABE Offline
Mechanic
ABE  Offline
Mechanic

Unfortunately none of the MRL products from the majors are real great. They of course all have propriety controls which will be difficult for others to work on. The Schindler(3300) and Otis(Gen2) product both utilize propriety suspension belts that are very expensive if they will even sell them to a 3rd party. The Kone eco space uses regular cables but has poor reliability with drives brakes and circuit boards. TKE uses regular cables as well and Torin machines which any one can buy parts for. Their hydro MRL is about the same as their standard hydro with the exception of the tank and controller being in different locations as well as using a electronic Bucher valve as opposed the I2. With the TKE equipment there is still the proprietary controller issue but anyone one can purchase the major mechanical items without going to TKE.