Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Newest Members
vacheera, KM Elevator, Shawzee, ChurchGuy, Luis Mariano
8461 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums13
Topics6,504
Posts36,823
Members8,461
Most Online117
Jan 16th, 2020
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#24846 - 09/23/18 03:29 PM Noisy elevator  
doron Offline
stranger
doron  Offline
stranger

Hi, I'm not an elevator professional but I hope you guys can give me an advice smile

I live in the top floor 10/10 of a 1985 building in the greater Tel-Aviv area.
The elevator room is on the roof just above us, and our bedroom has a common wall with the elevator shaft side.

We hear quite loud cranks, especially at night & early mornings: when the elevator starts moving, when it starts to deccelate & when it reaches a complete stop (the strongest). The noise seems to shake the building.
It's driving my SO nuts. Ironically, from inside the elevator itself the crank is barely heard...

The elevator company said there is nothing to do, and before we look for another flat I wanted to ask if any of the following may help:
1) Getting thicker pads between the engine beams and the concrete (pictures of the pads below)
2) Installing acoustic walls in the engine room and/or our bedroom
3) replacing something in the equipment
4) Any ideas are welcome!
The building management will cooperate with anything that's not too expensive smile

A video of the engine room in action & images:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/DLNsxU2Saq9yQQ327

Thanks!
Doron

#24847 - 09/23/18 04:57 PM Re: Noisy elevator [Re: doron]  
heisenberg Offline
Engineer
heisenberg  Offline
Engineer

I just got anxiety looking at those pictures and how you got so close to those uncovered sheeves and fly wheel.