Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Rev1), 16 guests, and 1 spider.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
April
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30
Newest Members
Prairieelevator, Robot Rob, Montkone, Jevans, Clayshooter
8395 Registered Users
Forum Statistics
Forums13
Topics6,495
Posts36,783
Members8,395
Most Online117
Jan 16th, 2020
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#29093 - 04/18/20 01:39 AM Potential newbie questions  
AllupsNodown Offline
stranger
AllupsNodown  Offline
stranger

I would like to start off and say thanks in advance for all the input and help.

(Atlanta Georgia Area)

Honestly just trying to get a feel for and what to expect in this profession. Iam an electrician by trade for the last 15 years, then got a wild hair in my butt and figured I'd go and become a firefighter in my mid 30's. About a 1 1/2 in the fire service so far and am already thinking I've made a mistake. Long story short, the local in my area just opened up accepting applications and I've applied.

Any advise, warnings, praises, do's-donts, expectations, reality, are all welcomed. A few questions I would like to have answered are...

1) realistically, generally speaking how steady is this trade with in reason.

2) opinion about companies. Meaning who should I strive to work for if the opportunity comes available. Are larger companies better or are smaller ones in this industry better.

3) service side or construction side? I really would like to get on with a company and work almost as much overtime as possible while iam still young and want to. Also the work conditions and hours of each.

4) the taboo one, realistically how much can one expect to earn annually in this career. (Atlanta Georgia)